About Our School ESLRs SARC School Profile Single Plan for Student Achievement
Academic Information AP/Honors GATE AVID Graduation Requirements State Testing AP/Honors Summer Assignments
Activities Band Club List Athletics
Administration Office Achievement Office Activities/Ed Services Office Discipline Office Guidance Office Health Office Instruction Office Registrar
Parent Resources Adult Volunteer Opportunities Bell Schedule Bus Schedule College Resources Community Resources Financial Aid Tutoring Career Center 9th Grade Orientation Presentations
Contact Us

AVID

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)

In 2006, Etiwanda High School adopted an AVID program with the hopes of increasing the amount of students entering four-year universities and colleges. The Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) program targets students in the academic middle–B, C, and even D students–who have the desire to go to college and the willingness to work hard. AVID places academically average students in advanced classes and provides them with an elective class that prepares them to succeed in rigorous curricula, enter mainstream activities in school, and increase their opportunities to enroll in four-year colleges.

AVID's mission is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society. The AVID program levels the playing field for minority, rural, low-income, and other students without a college-going tradition in their families. Developed in 1980 by Mary Catherine Swanson, AVID has seen steady growth throughout California, nationally, and internationally in the last 30 years.  

AVID Team

Name Email Address
Kristi Greenlee  - AVID Coordinator kristie.greenlee@cjuhsd.net
Kristen Holland kristen.holland@cjuhsd.net
Heather Jensen heather.jensen@cjuhsd.net
Julie Kawai julie.kawai@cjuhsd.net
Elsa Galindo elsa.galindo@cjuhsd.net
Myra Cisneros myra.cisneros@cjuhsd.net
Mallory Grandbois mallory.grandbois@cjuhsd.net
Daniel Meltreger daniel.meltreger@cjuhsd.net
Travis Lauda travis.lauda@cjuhsd.net
Juan Noriega juan.noriega@cjuhsd.net
Julie Phommavongsa julie.phommavongsa@cjuhsd.net
Jennifer Sabbagh jennifer.sabbagh@cjuhsd.net
Brenda Zitterkopf brenda.zitterkopf@cjuhsd.net

 

IS AVID FOR YOU?
What is AVID?


AVID stands for Advancement Via Individual Determination and is a four year elective class that prepares average students, with academic potential, for success in advanced high school classes and in college.

What are the expectations for an AVID student?
• Maintain a grade of “C” or above in all courses.
• Show exceptional citizenship and attendance.
• Establish and maintain organizational and study skills necessary to succeed in a rigorous academic environment.
• Take Cornell notes everyday, in every class.
• Actively participate in weekly tutorials.
• Write, question, collaborate and read.
• Take college preparatory and Advanced Placement (AP) courses.
• Prepare for and take college entrance exams such as the PSAT, SAT and ACT at various grade levels.
• Remain in program through graduation from high school.
• Be well rounded students.
• Apply to several four-year colleges.
• Participate in extracurricular activities, field trips, fundraising and community service.
• Communicate effectively with their teachers, tutors, and other students.
• Take an active part in developing academic strength, personal pride, and self-advocacy.

What are the expectations for an AVID parent?
• Encourage their students to achieve academically.
• Maintain regular contact with the AVID teacher.
• Become involved in the activities of the AVID program.

What happens in the AVID program?
1. Students receive academic instruction in writing, note-taking, studying, test taking, and organizing.
2. Students receive academic support from college tutors through collaborative tutorial groups and peer counseling.
3. Students are motivated to pursue academic excellence through goal setting, rigorous classes, cultural and collegiate field trips, classroom speakers, and AVID team building.

 

AVID-Pg-1.png
AVID-Pg-2.png